ZAPPELBUDE was founded in 1997 by Roberto Di Gioia (keyboards) and
Wolfgang Haffner (drums). Tony Lakatos (saxophones), guitarist Martin
Scales and bassist Patrick Scales were also members in the original line up.
In the course of time the band gained cult status. After five successful years
and several changes, the paths separated in 2002. Haffner started his solo
career, while Roberto Di Gioia appeared mainly as producer and sideman of stars such as Max Herre, Joy Denalane and Udo Lindenberg. Due to great demand, Di Gioia and Haffner decided to celebrate the 20th anniversary of ZAPPELBUDE with some exclusive shows. Also in 2017, ZAPPELBUDE means danceable and sweaty funk jazz of the extra class, played by an All Star Dream team of the German music scene.

A new album and tour in the original line up is planned for 2018

Line up

Wolfgang Haffner – drums
Roberto Di Gioia – keyboards
Tony Lakatos – saxophones
Martin Scales – guitar
Patrick Scales – bass